Hamworthy United vs Ilfracombe Town


Saturday 31st October 2020

Buildbase FA Vase 1st Round Proper

It wasn’t spooky but it was a Halloween 3 points for the Hammers in the 1st Round of the Buildbase FA Vase on Saturday afternoon against Ilfracombe Town at the County Ground. It wasn’t all one-way traffic as the visitors held a good game against the high flying Hammers who stuttered at the start of the match before going up a gear.

It wasn’t ideal preparation for the Bluebirds who were founded in 1902 and are currently playing in the South West Peninsula Premier East Western Football League at step 6 with the team arriving late hindering their pre-match preparation. A request for a late kick-off by the visitors was refused by the match referee which meant they were under pressure from the off.

The visitors got off to a bright start and looked to be quite a handful for the Hammers but the game soon settled down with the Hammers taking the lead early on with skipper Lee Francis on 7 minutes. Further goals for Dan Cann 28 minutes, Eddie Hodge 36 minutes and to round things off Matty Neale with the Hammers 4th on 57 minutes dented the passion that the visitors had shown.

If you would like to watch the match it will be available on TBTV Sport YouTube channel HERE

Special mention to the referee Adam Kennard who kept the game flowing fairly well with limited stoppages and bookings.

RESULT: 4-0 (Francis 7′ Cann 28′ Hodge 36′ Neale 57′)

Hammers: 69′ Davis replaced Cann 75′ Ward replaced Hodge 79′ Cooper replaced Neale
Ilfracombe Town: 54′ Woodcock replaced Prentice 76′ Slade replaced Stevens


[mixcloud https://www.mixcloud.com/radiosportslive/20201031-hamworthy-united-4-0-ilfracombe-town/ width=100% height=120 hide_cover=1]


Hamworthy United:
1 Shane Murphy
2 Jamie Filkins
3 Declan Randall
4 Max Buckler
5 Connor Cocklin
6 Adam Costello
7 Eddie Hodge
8 Lee Francis (c)
9 Matty Neale
10 Dan Cann
11 Jamie Beasley
12 Tom Cooper
13 Ross Hall (gk)
14 Christie Ward
15 Crit Clarke
16 Ollie Davis
17 Tony Rolls

Ilfracombe Town:
1 Steve Oliver
2 Edward Jenkins
3 Daniel Roberts
4 Jack Jenkins
5 Brodie Montague
15 Kane Dryden
7 Ollie Stevens
8 Charlie Prentice
9 Kevin Squire
12 Joe Barker
11 Will Berry
10 Alan Woodcock
14 Jamie Mirow
6 David Slade
16 Cory Roach
17 Sam Phillips

Referee:  Adam Kennard
Assistants: Andrew Brown & Loui Stone