Bashley vs Christchurch


Tim Allan and Steve White were pitchside at Bashley Road for a mix of music and live commentary on a cold Tuesday night. Wessex League action it was with the visit of Christchurch to near neighbours Bashley at the Glen Mex Stadium, Bashley Road for this local derby.

A the start of the match Bashley were in 10th place on 15 points with Christchurch 5th on 20 points both trailing league leaders Hamworthy United who are on 28 points. Both clubs have played 10 matches while the leaders have played 11. Bashley has won 3 and lost 3 at home this season while Tuesday evenings visitors Christchurch have won 3 drawn 1 and not lost away from home this season.

It was a cold night but 190 fans supported The Bash, all well behaved, social distancing and wearing masks when needed, great to see. This was a much-anticipated match which started with The Bash taking control from the kick-off they were pressurising The Church at every opportunity. Church soaked up this pressure like a sponge, defending very well for the first 25 minutes then Church started to show some bright glimpses when moving forwards.

The tide turned in their favour when Ash Pope netted on the half-hour (30′). Bash heads didn’t drop, manager Paul Morris has a good squad of players who kept piling the pressure on the visitors the rest of the match.3 subs used for the visitors against just 1 for Bash who also had 2 yellow cards issued while Church had 3 and a resulting red for Ron Frosts 2nd yellow of the match.

Bash tried as hard as they could all second half but simply could not break down the defence of Church which sees the visitors move into 5th position in the league table with 23 points while Bash remains in 10th position on 15 points.

RadioSportsLive would like to thank Mike Cranidge and the staff at Bashley for their hospitality.

RESULT: 0-1 (Pope 30′)

Bashley: (5 Aimson replaced 16 Ross 84′)
Christchurch: (16 Ansell replaced 3 Hill 62′ 14 Finch replaced 9 Pope 72′ 15 Frampton replaced 8 Swann 87′)

[mixcloud width=100% height=120 hide_cover=1]


1 Samuel Thompson
18 Brad Strickland (Y 45+3′)
14 Liam Farrugia
4 Dan Thompson
8 Brad Morris (C)
16 Lewis Ross
7 Harry Bunce (Y 77′)
3 Ollie Bradley
9 Cameron Beard
10 Connor Whiteley
11 Harry McGrath
5 Lewis Aimson
1 Harry Gravett
15 Jamie Webber
2  Tom Betts

1 Lewis Gunstone-Grey
2 Emmanuel Ohameje
3 Brad Hill
4 Ron Frost (Y 20′ 76′ R 76′)
5 Billy Walker (c) (Y 87′)
6 Harvey Wright
7 Ben Satterley
8 Nick Swann
9 Ash Pope
10 Max Wilcock
11 Luke Delaney
13 Kyle Graham
14  Mickey Finch
15 Max Frampton
16 Luke Ansell
17 James Johnstone

Referee: Martin Bloor
Assistants: Craig Sandoe & Lee Stevens