Christchurch vs Cribbs FC


Tim and Warren were live pitchside for this very entertaining FA Vase game at the MA Hart Stadium, Hurn Bridge Sports Club for Saturday afternoons rescheduled match after last weeks rain off. Both teams started at a great pace, midfield battles were strong, plentiful and hard at times with neither side gaining much of an advantage.

Nick Swann opened the scoring on 9 minutes for the Church from out of nothing with a great powerful shot, but that lead only lasted until the 29th minute when Ross McErlain poped in the equaliser which took both sides in at half-time level on goals and very much on the pitch action.

It was a fairly fought match only two yellow cards, Luke Delaney (74′) and very late into added time the visitors Ryan Crouch (90+9′). Substitutes were made by both sides who were looking good when they were able to make a break and they looked very fast especially the visitors’ Matt Spiller who was causing problems for much of the match.

The final breakthrough came with Will Fletcher blasting home on 85 minutes much to the delight of the crowd who were nice and vocal throughout the match. The visitors didn’t give up, both sides searching for another breakthrough which wasn’t to come for either side and when that final whistle went it signalled the start of another potential cup run for the Christchurch faithful with the next round at home same time next Saturday afternoon against Falmouth.

RESULT: 2-1 (Swann 9′ Fletcher 85′) (McErlain 29′)

Christchurch: (15 Fletcher replaced 9 Graham 59′ 14 Finch replaced 11 Pope 64′ 12 Ansell replaced 6 Swann 90+1′ )
Cribbs: (17 Oakley replaced 11 Kellow 80′ 15 Duru replaced 8 Anthony 89′)

[mixcloud width=100% height=120 hide_cover=1]


1 Lewis Gunstone-Grey
2 Harvey Wright
3 Brad Hill
4 Ron Frost
5 Billy Walker (c)
6 Nick Swann
7 Ben Satterley
8 Luke Delaney (Y 74′)
9 Kyle Graham
10 Max Wilcock
11 Ash Pope
12 Luke Ansell 
14  Mickey Finch
15 Will Fletcher
16 James Johnstone
17 Manny Ohameje

Cribbs FC
1 Fraser McDonald
2 Josh Bennett
3 Lewis Waldy
4 Jake Hodgson (c)
5 Ryan Crouch (Y 90+9′)
6 Ross McErlain
7 Matt Spiller
8 Tom Anthony
9 Dan Webb
10 Steve Murray
11 George Kellow
12 Josh Penrose
14 Connor Sidley-Adams
15 David Duru
16 Aaron Still
17 Sam Oakley
18 Jack McKenna
19 Dan Dyke

Referee: Brian White
Assistants: Alex Rush-Fear & Jon Ashley